Financial Aid Eligibility

A yearly determination of eligibility and financial need is required for most forms of financial aid. To be considered for financial aid, a student must:

  1. Be officially admitted to UTSA as a degree-seeking student
  2. File a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
  3. Meet deadlines set by the Office of Student Financial Aid and Enrollment Services
  4. Not be in default on any Title IV, HEA loan made for attendance at any institution
  5. Not owe a refund on any Title IV, HEA grant received for attendance at any institution
  6. Make Satisfactory Academic Progress

In addition, a student:

  • Who is not  a U.S. citizen must provide proof of eligibility
  • Whose financial aid file is selected for "verification" by UTSA will be asked for additional documentation. This information must be provided to receive and remain eligible for aid.
  • Who is subject to selective service registration will be required to file a statement that the student has registered or is exempt from selective service registration in order to be eligible to apply for federal financial aid. Effective January 1, 1998, the selective service requirement is also applicable to students applying for financial assistance funded by State revenue.

Top 10 Percent Scholarship

The Top 10 Percent Scholarship is awarded to students who graduate in the top 10 percent of their high school class. Qualifying students who submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or Texas Application for State Financial Aid (TASFA) by the deadline set by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and have financial need may be eligible to receive up to $600 if they enroll full-time in a Texas public college or university during the following Fall semester.

NOTE: Beginning with the 2015-2016 academic year, the Texas Legislature did not allocate funding for any new awards in the Top 10% Scholarship program. Awards will be posted for renewal students only.